Prestigious Award Allows Maritime Students to Attend DEEP

Eight high-achieving Newfoundland and Labrador students won awards that allowed them to attend DEEP this summer. Jeremy Costello, Emma Croll-Baehre, Marta Croll-Baehre, Mark Hewitt, Erin Jones, Laura Kelloway, Prerak Pokharel and Amanda Ricketts received funding through the Research & Development Corporation’s Research Inspired Student Enrichment (RISE) Awards. The RISE Awards focus on level II students who excel in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM).

“It is important to inspire and invest in the development of young people that will fuel growth in research and innovation,” said the Honourable Keith Hutchings, Minister Responsible for the Research & Development Corporation. “I extend my congratulations to each of these students who have completed programs this summer which provided exposure to research areas that align with education and career paths relevant to Newfoundland and Labrador industries.”